Friday, February 6, 2015

Texas State Senate: Higher Education Committee

The map above shows the districts of the Senators who are on the Senate Higher Education Committee.  The dark red is the district of the Committee Chair.  The lighter reds and blues are the districts of the committee members.

Out of curiosity, which higher ed institutions did the committee members graduate from?

Chair, Kel Seliger - Dartmouth College
Vice Chair, Royce West - UT-Arlington, University of Houston
Paul Bettencourt - Texas A&M
Konni Burton - UNT
Charles Perry - Texas Tech
Leticia Van de Putte - UT-Austin
Kirk Watson - Baylor

Monday, February 2, 2015

Updated: Dallas Cowboys Politics

Updated:  Another season under a Republican Governor and the Cowboys missed going to the Super Bowl.

Maybe the Texas Democratic Party can target a new type of voter in future elections: Dallas Cowboys fans.

First, a word analogy:

Dallas Cowboys is to Super Bowl as _____________ are to Texas.

A) Democrats
B) Republicans
C) Independents

2015 TX Legislature: Hope for the Best, Expect the Worst

With the removal of the 2/3rds rule in the Texas Senate, I think this legislative session can easily be summed up as this: Hope for the Best, Expect the Worst.